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Oregon Per-Mile Road Usage Charge Law

Senate Bill 810 directs
Oregon DOT to implement
a 1.5 cent per-mile road
usage charge for 5,000
volunteer light vehicles as
an operational program
on July 1, 2015
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Organizing Characteristics for 
Oregon’s Per Mile Charge System

Design program 
with open 

architecture

Technology
agnostic

Provide 
motorists 
choices

Provide access 
to private 

sector account 
management

Interoperable, 
scalable and 

geographically 
unlimited
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Policy Neutral
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Road Usage Charge Transactions
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Road Usage Charge 
Account Management 

Commercial Account Managers
• Recruit and choose volunteers

• All mileage reporting technologies 
that meet standards

• Add value added services

• With express approval of RUC 
Payer, can sell mileage data

DOT Account Management
• Must accept any volunteer

• Only basic reporting (no GPS)

• No value added services

• Cannot sell mileage data
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Volunteer Experience - Entry
1.  Select Provider
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Volunteer Experience – Sign Up

2. Sign up and select 
mileage reporting 
method

3. Install mileage  
reporting device

4. Drive
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Volunteer Experience - Payment

5. Account settlement 
• Nature of billing
• Timing of payment
• Method of payment

Varies by account manager
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Road Usage Charge Transactions
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OReGO Status to Date

 852 Oregonians have signed up for OReGO as of August 13, 
2015

 Below 17 MPG =  215   (25%)

 Between 17 and 22 MPG =  260   (31%)

 22 MPG and above =  377   (44%)

 Type of mileage reporting devices chosen by volunteers

 Non-GPS reporting devices = 28%

 GPS reporting devices = 72%

 Most enrolled vehicle type is Toyota Prius

 Second most enrolled vehicle type is Ford F-150
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What’s Going On with OReGO Now?

• OReGO account managers enroll volunteers, collect 
1.5 cents for every mile reported as driven within the 
state of Oregon and credit the fuel tax

• Every week, Errors and Events Report from account 
managers

• Every month, account managers send to ODOT a Key 
Performance Indicators Report

• On October 20, OReGO account managers report 
transaction data to ODOT and pay net amount of 
road usage charge into Oregon State Treasury 
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What is next for road usage charging 
in Oregon?
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The Final Stage of Development for 
Road Usage Charge Policy In Oregon

For a mandatory road usage charge system, 
the state legislature determines:

• Which vehicles are in the program
• When vehicles are in the program

(transition plan) 
• What taxes/fees will be replaced
• What the rate structure will be
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