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Subject: Follow-Up Questions from August 26, 2015 Meeting 

 

ISSUE: 
 
The purpose of this memorandum is to clarify the project team’s responses to questions that were 
posed by the committee members during the August 26, 2015 Technical Advisory Committee 
(TAC) meeting. Below, the questions and corresponding responses are grouped under general 
category headings. 
 
UPDATE: 
 
Inter-agency Work Group 
Q – Does the inter-agency work group referenced in the organizational design presentation refer to 
the State Account Manager function of road charging or the Account Management Oversight 
function? 
A – As referenced in the organizational design presentation, the inter-agency work group members 
will provide input to and observe all aspects of the pilot that may be relevant to their tasks, 
including how Commercial Account Managers and a State Account Manager operate. However, 
during the pilot, the inter-agency work group will not be actively completing those functions. In a 
potential future road charging system, the functions that could ultimately be performed by a state 
agency or agencies, including those represented on the inter-agency work group, may include all of 
the Account Management Oversight functions and some or all of the State Account Manager 
functions. 
 
Rate Setting 
Q – What per-mile rate is required to generate the same gross revenue as one cent of gas tax? 
A – As of 2015, according to the Air Resources Board, the average California vehicle fuel economy 
for gasoline-powered vehicles is approximately 20 miles per gallon. For the purpose of this 
illustration, 1 cent per gallon of gasoline excise tax is equivalent to 0.05 cents per mile on average.  
 
OReGO 
Q – What is motivating motorists in Oregon to volunteer for OReGO, particularly those motorists 
who will have to pay more in net taxes? 
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A – Oregon DOT has not reported any reaction from or motivations of volunteer motorists. There 
have been media reports quoting volunteers about their participation and experience, as well as blog 
and forum posts by volunteers at the project website: www.myorego.org. From these anecdotal 
reports, several volunteers have expressed interest in learning about how the system functions first-
hand. At least two electric vehicle owners have indicated a desire to contribute their share to the 
Oregon road system based on their usage. 
 
Q – What are Oregon’s policies and procedures for securing and protecting the privacy of wireless 
data handled by commercial account managers? 
A – All account managers (commercial and state-run) in Oregon are required to complete a 
certification process to demonstrate their compliance with state-developed data security standards 
and privacy requirements, including requirements in statute and requirements developed separately 
by Oregon DOT. To read more about the certification process, visit the FAQ at 
http://www.myorego.org/frequently-asked-questions/ (click on the Privacy/Security tab). 
 
Q – If a participant chooses not to disclose personal mileage data, will Oregon’s commercial 
account managers still accept him or her as a customer? 
A – Yes, Oregon’s commercial account managers accept customers even if they opt not to provide 
anonymized mileage data for commercial purposes. 
 
Q – What are the ways in which the California pilot will be different from OReGO? 
A – The project team is developing a table to compare the two programs for distribution at the 
October TAC meeting. 
 
Q – How are OReGO volunteer enrollments tracking with expectations? 
A – Oregon DOT did not publish any expectations or targets for sign-ups. They have noted that the 
5,000-volunteer number is a statutory limit on participants, not a target. 
 
Focus Groups and Telephone Surveys 
Q – Did focus groups explore operational aspects of road charging such as reporting mileage and 
making payments? 
A – Focus group participants were provided a one-page handout that explained five operational 
concepts for road charging as recommended by the TAC thus far: time permit, mileage permit, 
odometer charge, automated mileage reporting with no location data, and automated mileage 
reporting with general location data. After reading this handout, participants discussed the pros and 
cons of each concept and ranked their initial preference of concept from first to last. See Handout 
#2 on page 5. 
 
Q – What were the demographics of the focus group participants? 
A – See Tables 1-5 on the following two pages summarizing education level, household income, 
age, gender, and ethnic group of focus group participants. 
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Table 1. Education Level 

 
OAKLAND 

SAN 
DIEGO 

LOS 
ANGELES 

FRESNO REDDING TOTAL 

Less than 
high school 
grad (1-11) 

0 0 0 1 0 1 

HS graduate  1 1 0 1 2 5 

Some 
college/2 
year degree 

5 4 8 5 4 26 

College 
degree/4 year 
degree 

2 3 2 3 4 14 

Post college 2 1 0 1 0 4 

 

Table 2. Household Income 

 
OAKLAND 

SAN 
DIEGO 

LOS 
ANGELES 

FRESNO REDDING TOTAL 

$0 - $15,000 1 0 0 1 1 3 

$15,000-
$29,999 

2 0 3 4 3 12 

$30,000-
$49,999 

1 3 4 1 1 10 

$50,000-
$74,999 

0 4 0 3 2 9 

$75,000-
$99,999 

2 0 2 1 1 6 

$100,000 + 4 2 1 1 2 10 
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Table 3. Age 

 
OAKLAND 

SAN 
DIEGO 

LOS 
ANGELES 

FRESNO REDDING TOTAL 

18-24 2 1 3 3 0 9 

25-34 1 3 3 3 2 12 

35-44 3 1 2 1 3 10 

45-54 2 1 1 2 3 9 

55-64 1 3 1 2 2 9 

65+ 0 0 0 0 0 0 

 

Table 4. Gender 

 
OAKLAND 

SAN 
DIEGO 

LOS 
ANGELES 

FRESNO REDDING TOTAL 

Male 5 3 6 6 6 26 

Female 5 6 4 5 4 24 

 

Table 5. Ethnic Group 

 
OAKLAND 

SAN 
DIEGO 

LOS 
ANGELES 

FRESNO REDDING TOTAL 

White/ 
Caucasian 

4 6 4 5 9 28 

Black/ 
African 
American 

3 2 2 2 0 9 

Spanish/ 
Hispanic 

2 1 4 3 0 10 

Asian or 
Pacific 
Islander 

1 0 0 1 0 2 

Native 
American 

0 0 0 0 1 1 
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Handout #2  
1. Time Permit 

Motorists buy a permit to drive an unlimited number of miles for a given period of time (such as a 

year, half-year, quarter, or month). Permits might be sold at retail outlets like gas stations or 

grocery stores, or could be purchased on-line.  

2. Mileage Permit 

Motorists buy a permit to drive a set number of miles (1,000 miles, for example). When they 

get close to their mileage limit, they purchase a new permit. Permits might be sold at retail 

outlets like gas stations or grocery stores, or could be purchased on-line. Roadway use is 

recorded by the vehicle’s odometer and the driver reports an odometer reading periodically 

using a website, smartphone app, postcard, or in person at the DMV. You have the option of 

pre-paying for the year (or in quarterly installments) or paying as you go on a quarterly or 

annual basis. 

3. Odometer Charge 

Roadway use is recorded by the vehicle’s odometer and the driver reports an odometer reading 

periodically using a website, smartphone app, postcard, or in person at the DMV. You have the 

option of pre-paying for the year (or in quarterly installments) or paying as you go on a quarterly or 

annual basis.  

4. Automated Mileage Reporting with No Location Data 

You would either install a small after-market device in your car (you can do it yourself – no 

mechanic required) or download an app to your smartphone and then pair it to your car. The device 

and app measure how many miles you have driven and send that number to an account manager. 

You would receive a bill by email or USPS and would have the option of paying on-line by credit 

card or by cash or check. Because no location data is captured or recorded, you will be billed for all 

the miles you drive, but there could be a way for you to request a deduction for miles you drive 

outside California or on private property.  

5. Automated Mileage Reporting with General Location Data 

You would either install a small after-market device in your car (you can do it yourself – no mechanic 

required) or download an app to your smartphone and then pair it to your car. The device and app measure how many 

miles you have driven and whether those miles are inside California or outside the state or on private roads. An 

account manager would send your bill by email or USPS. You would have the option of paying on-line by credit card 

or by cash or check. This option is different from option 4 because it does use location data to automatically deduct 

any miles you drive outside California or on private roads and you are not billed for them. 


